Monaghan Collegiate School

Address:  Corlatt, Monaghan, H18X027
Phone: 047-82060

Board of Govenors

Monaghan Collegiate School, formerly Monaghan Diocesan School was originally founded by an Act of Dublin Parliament in 1570 and underwent a number of transitions up until 1902. From the inspiration of the original Diocesan School, the school was re-established in 1950 under the combined patronage of the Church of Ireland and Presbyterian churches. It is supported and run by the Board of Governors in conjunction with the Board of Management and has three Trustees. Based on our Protestant tradition and history, the school is committed to providing for the welfare (spiritual, moral, cultural, mental and physical) of all our pupils in an inclusive and caring environment, and to the development of mutual respect and tolerance grounded in Christian compassion.

Our Board of Governors, under the Chairmanship of the Bishop of Clogher elect, Dr. Ian Ellis comprises of 16 individuals representing the Protestant Churches in Monaghan. The Board is responsible for the Ethos and direction of the School.

Four seats are occupied ex-officio by the Church of Ireland Bishop of Clogher, the Church of Ireland Rector of Monaghan Parish, the Minister of First Monaghan Presbyterian Church, the Minister of Ballyalbany Presbyterian Church

Eleven of the members are elected triennially as follows and are eligible for re-election:

Two members elected by the Select Vestry of the Church of Ireland Parish of Monaghan.
Two members elected by the Session of First Monaghan Presbyterian Church.
Two members elected by the postal ballot of all parents, each of whom shall be a parent of a pupil currently attending the School, and at least one of whom shall be a mother.
Two members elected triennially by the Presbytery of Monaghan of the Presbyterian Church of Ireland.
One member elected triennially by the Diocesan Council of the Diocese of Clogher.
One member of the Board of Governors shall be co-opted triennially from the other Protestant denominations.  This member of the Board shall be co-opted at the first Board meeting in the triennium, and shall be eligible for renewed co-option.


 Board of Governors (2020-2023)
 Nominating BodyRepresentativePosition
1.       Bishop of ClogherBishop Ian EllisChairman elect
2.       Rector of St PatricksChancellor Ian Berry 
3.     Minister of 1st MonaghanRev Alan McQuade 
4.       Minister of BallyalbanyRev Stephen McNieVice-chairman
5.       Select Vestry St Patrick’sMuriel Tracey 
6.       Select Vestry St Patrick’sDick Shirley 
7.       Session 1st MonaghanEric Clarke 
8.       Session 1st MonaghanEmma Coyle 
9.       Session BallyalbanyRuth Williamson 
10.     Session BallyalbanyRodney Stewart 
11.     Monaghan PresbyteryGary McAdoo 
12.  Monaghan PresbyteryElena Gray 
13.    Clogher DioceseIsobel Adams 
14.     Minority ChurchesDavid Greacan
15.     Parental  RepresentativeDavid Kinghan 
16.     Parental  RepresentativeLinda Keating 
17.     PrincipalJohnston ReidSecretary (Non-voting)


Scroll to Top